Kiwi Daquiri Dessert Sauce

6 07 2009

Kiwi Daquiri Dessert Sauce

Kiwi Daquiri Dessert Sauce

(Pictures taken by ReinventingJess)

This was ridiculously quick and easy to make. I came across the recipe on the back of the packaging for some adorable little 8 ounce Ball Jars that I had bought for Cherry Jam.  Speaking of these adorable jars, my daughter informed me that she did not like them. In fact, I was told that I’m not allowed to buy them any more. That’s right folks, my shopping decisions are now made by a 3 year old. Anyway, back to the jam. The Ball recipe lists this as a “jam” but it is waaaaay too sweet for jam. In fact, if I make it again, I think I’ll cut the sugar in half.  Even though it was sweeter than I prefer in a jam, it was perfect as a dessert sauce. I poured some over vanilla ice cream and it tasted wonderfully decadent. I have plans to eventually try on top of plain cheesecake, or maybe as a base sauce for a mousse. From start to finish, it took me about 45 minutes (and that includes the 10 minutes that I ran to Wynk’s house for some green food coloring.)

Kiwi Daiquiri Dessert Sauce

  • 2 cups crushed peeled kiwifruit (about 5 medium)
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened pineapple juice
  • 1/2 cup lime juice
  • 1 1.75-oz pkg Fruit Pectin
  • 3 cups sugar (*like I said, I would cut this back some)
  • 1/4 cup rum (I used coconut rum!)
  • 3 drops green food coloring, optional

1.) Prepare boiling water canner. Heat Jars and lids in simmering water until ready for use.  Set Bands aside.

2.) Combine kiwifruit, pineapple juice and lime juice in a saucepan. Gradually stir in pectin. Bring mixture to a full rolling boil that cannot be stirred down, over high heat, stirring frequently. Add entire measure of sugar, stirring to dissolve. Return mixture to a full rolling boil. Boil hard for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Immediately stir in rum and green food coloring. Remove from heat. Skim foam if necessary.

3.) Ladle hot jam into hot jars leaving 1/4 inch headspace. Wipe Rim. Center hot lid on jar. Apply band and adjust until fit is fingertip tight.

4.) Process in a boiling water canner for 10 minutes. Remove jars and cool. Check lids for seal after 24 hours.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment