A day without coffee…

26 03 2008

Does anyone else ever feel like this? I feel like I’m constantly one (teeny tiny) step from a nervous breakdown all the time. I’m very short on sleep today (thanks to my 7 month old), so I know that colors things, but today started out fairly well. It wasn’t a particularly bad morning for us. Yes, Taryn did scream bloody murder while I tried to take a shower and yes, I had to tackle Tori to get her dressed, but these things are minor. I met one of my best friends for lunch today since she happened to be on my side of town (for those of you who don’t live in Houston, “the other side of the city” is a good hour away if traffic is light). It’s always a challenge to enjoy a lunch with a toddler and a baby, but overall, they did pretty well. Then Tori got sick on the way home and messed up her dress and the car seat and added such a lovely aroma to my car that I spent the rest of the drive fighting my gag reflex. When we got home I stripped her down and sponged her off and got both girls down for a nap and managed to get a little rest myself. That was the best part of my day.

Unfortunately it didn’t last long. When I woke up to Taryn’s screaming (who needs an alarm clock when you have babies?), I had a headache and my mom called to say she was coming over (no, those two aren’t related.) Mom came over and we couldn’t even have a decent conversation because Taryn never stopped screaming and Tori never stopped whining and the whole time, I’m just burning with shame about how disgusting my house is. You have to understand, I don’t have one of those judgmental type moms. She understands what its like when you’ve got two kids and she relates to a lot of what I’m going through, but that doesn’t stop me from looking around and seeing the filth through her eyes. I just wanted to sit down in the middle of the dirty floor and bawl. I never seem to be able to get ahead. In fact, it feels like no matter how much I do, the house gets worse and worse everyday. All I’m doing is spinning my wheels and its wearing me down.

Things are looking slightly better. I let Taryn scream bloody murder while Tori watched Harry Potter so that I could clean my kitchen and sweep and mop. Trey and I straightened some more after the girls were in bed and put the CHRISTMAS boxes in the attic. Yup, that’s right- I said Christmas boxes. It wasn’t enough, but it did make a dent.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 03 2008
Jessica

LOL, I didn’t even put up Christmas decorations this past Christmas, and I STILL have decorations sitting in a corner of my dining area. I feel your pain! I’ve really contemplated hiring a maid for a day, but I’m not so sure she wouldn’t run screaming in terror too. That, and if seh charged by the hour, that could get really pricey!

31 03 2008
Heidi

Oh boy, can I relate! I have 3 children (3 and under) and we have MANY MANY days like the one you’ve described.

Also, I have a permanent Christmas display above my kitchen cupboards. Why take the time to tear it down each year and then climb back up to do it again 10 months later?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

