All Cooked Out

23 06 2009

I love to cook, but I definitely overdid it for Father’s Day. I promised my mom that I would bake some oatmeal raisin cookies for my PawPaw who was going to be passing through that day.  Since I was cooking Oatmeal Cookies anyway, I thought I would surpise my hubby with some Oatmeal Creme Pies for Father’s Day.  Then I realized when I was cooking him breakfast that we didn’t not have anything breadish to put jam on. (We live on jam at our house. We didn’t used to, but then a friend showed me how to can and I made jam like crazy and then she shared her jam and now jam is all The Thing here. ) Anyway, we didn’t have any bread, so I decided that since I was baking I could just whip up a batch of biscuits, too. I’m sure for some people this isn’t a big deal, but I had never actually made biscuits before. (Except Cocoa and Biscuits, but that’s another story.) So I tried a new recipe that was ok, but the temperature was way too high and the I rolled the biscuits to thin, so I made another batch so I could get it right. Sometimes its hard being a perfectionist.

Are you tired yet?  I was pretty tired by this point.   Here’s where I took a break and threw the kids in the car to try and see my grandfather and my Uncle Dominic and Uncle Larry who were supposed to be at my Mom’s at 12:45.  They never showed. At 2:15, they were still a half hour away and I couldn’t wait anymore.  My kids were already up way past their nap time, and I didn’t want to risk the certain meltdowns if we tried to wait longer. So that was generally a waste of time, but it did give me a break from cooking.

I should have stopped here. I didn’t.

I’d already told my hubby and my brother in law that I would cook Chicken and Sausage Gumbo for them and I’d already taken all the meat out for it. And, since I was cooking gumbo anyway, my Mom wanted to know if I would go ahead and make some Egg and Potato Fricasee. So I started that. Now, if you haven’t cooked gumbo before, let me explain something. Cooking gumbo is not that difficult. Its actually pretty easy. The exhausting and laborious part of gumbo is cooking the roux. You get to stand over a skillet (or in my case, since I was cooking so much, 2 skillets) for a couple of hours, slowly stirring flour and oil and until it browns and starts to look like this.

3648973244_cf45429d16_b

This flavor filled paste of goo. Then you chop up a bunch of veggies and throw them in the roux after you’ve taken it off the heat. (The roux stays very hot for quite awhile)

3648163033_ec8b78b1b9_b

After all the Cajun Trinity (celery, onion and bell pepper) has cooked, just throw the roux in a pot, throw in whatever else you are cooking and add water until you get to the desired consistency. Gumbo is more of a soup and Fricasee is more of a thick gravy. I wish I had pictures of the rest of the progress, but I didn’t take these myself. My friend, Wynk took the pictures and she had to go back home to mow her lawn before I could finish.

Oh, I almost forgot- while I was cooking the roux, I thought it would be a fun treat to cook some stuffed jalepenos, as well. (just for kicks)

So, to sum up, I cooked

  • 2 batches of biscuits a
  • batch of Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
  • a batch of  Oatmeal Creme Pies
  • a breakfast of sausage, bacon and eggs
  • Stuffed Jalepenos
  • Chicken and Sausage Gumbo
  • Egg and Potato Fricasee

All in one day. Because I’m an idiot. Oh, and I love my husband. I spent 2 hours cleaning the kitchen that night and it still wasn’t completely clean. So what did my kids get for breakfast this morning? Pops cereal. And what did they have for lunch? Sonic. And what did they have for dinner? leftover gumbo.  I was so cooked out that by the time I made it home to eat, we were out of rice and I just ate my fricasee plain. (my 1 cajun reader is shuddering at the thought right now). Because I was too tired to cook rice! Maybe this won’t turn into a cooking blog, afterall. 🙂

Actions

Information

4 responses

23 06 2009
melissa

Argh I should have stayed, maybe I’d be able to walk today. 😉

5 07 2009
drmiggy

That roux is making my mouth water. You’ve inspired me!

9 07 2009
Jessica

Mmmm…..that all looks so good! Do you know, I don’t think I’ve ever had your gumbo? How is that even possible? And, I still say you are crazy, but in a good way. 😉

9 07 2009
middleclassmom

I agree, I’m crazy. I don’t know how you’ve gone this long without having my gumbo. I didn’t really make it much in college, but I’ve made it quite a bit since. I’m so stubborn about making my own roux that it really is a pain. When things cool off for us, I’ll have to make you some. I’ve needed a good excuse to try a seafood gumbo, so you’ll be that excuse.

Leave a Reply

