Summer Veggie Pasta

25 06 2009

3655087101_ec0b7c5161_b

(all photos are courtesy of Wynk)

This is the perfect time of year to start eating seasonally.  All of the best stuff is in season and this dish is great for blending all of those summer flavors. Its simple and still very flavorful.

Here’s the rundown.

Get a nice assortment of in season veggies. These represent a combination of what’s in season (and on sale!) and in the stores right now and what was available in my own garden.

3655871224_3b551ff29a_b

Then just chop them up. This is the only really time consuming step of the entire process. Don’t be too stressed about making the sizes perfect. I just hack away and tell myself I’m aiming for the “rustic” chop.

Then just dump all the veggies in a roasting pan and drizzle with EVOO (yes, I’m a Rachel Ray fan) and sprinkle a healthy amount of seasoning (I used McCormick’s Garlic and Onion seasoning).

3655080317_ace5834949_b

Roast in the oven under the broiler at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes or until everything is soft and cooked and the cherry tomatoes burst.

Drop the pasta.

Make the pesto. Everyone’s pesto is a little different (and mine is always dependent on what I have on hand.) Dump the basil, mint, sauteed garlic cloves, and toasted nuts in the food processor. Stream in EVOO while pulsing until it gets to the desired consistency. Then add in a generous handful of your cheese. (I usually use parmesean, but I happened to have Romano on hand today.) If you have a lemon, this is good time to add in some zest and a good squeeze of lemon juice, too.

3655880600_02782e361e_b

Reserve 1 cup of starchy cooking water from the pasta and drain the rest once its al dente. Put the pesto in the bottom of a large serving bowl and stir in the reserved water. (It will look thin.) Add in your pasta and roasted veggies. Stir until the pesto is evenly distributed and top with more cheese. Enjoy!

3655883626_4b61dd469f_b

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 06 2009
TasteStopping

I really appreciate a recipe that capitalizes on seasonal foods. Even if I can’t find what I need in my own garden, it makes me feel so much better to know I can go to a local farmer’s market or even the locally-grown produce section of my megamart and find what I need.

Anyway, I found you on TasteSpotting and am writing to say that if you have any photos that aren’t accepted there, I’d love to publish them. Visit my new site (below), it’s a lot of fun! I hope you will consider it.

Best,
Casey
Editor
http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

30 06 2009
tienra

nice articel!
itnews.oonclinic.com

Leave a Reply

