My kids don’t know it, but I rock!

23 02 2010

I’ve spent most of motherhood feeling like a failure. Maybe its because I never expected to be a mother or maybe its just something that every mother feels because we want so very much for our children. This afternoon was a nice exception. The temperatures have plummeted again and forecasters are talking snow and sleet tonight. For us Texas natives, this is just crazy! After I brought the kids home from school, I decided we all needed a nice cup of hot chocolate to warm us up. I drank instant cocoa growing up and I never thought twice about it.  Since I’ve changed my eating habits, I’ve found that I can’t stand the taste and I wanted to make something better. After perusing recipe after recipe on the internet, I decided I was over thinking the whole thing. I grabbed some a Dove dark chocolate baking bar and melted it into a saucepan with some half and half, milk, cinnamon and vanilla extract. Once it all melted into a creamy consistency (with little floating specks of dark chocolate), I poured it into miniature mugs (I use my espresso mugs) and topped it with some homemade whipped cream. The girls and I sat at the breakfast table and drank our hot chocolate and talked about the day and giggled over silly things. For this one moment, I felt like a great mom. I’m going to enjoy the feeling while it lasts!

Forgive the picture quality- its from my phone

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 02 2010
melissa

I think (and you know this to be true) that you are your own worst critic. Your kids are too young to understand all of the things that encompass being a good mom. They are living in the moment, with all of the ups and downs that come from being little and changing every day. But (and I know it doesn’t feel like it now) someday they are going to be adults, and thinking about things like what it means to be a good mom, and they will appreciate what you are doing for them right now.

And when they are in college and come home for Christmas and want you to make REAL hot chocolate because all they can make in the dorm is that awful powdered stuff, you’ll know you did it right. 😉

25 02 2010
Jessica M.

Ok, I will give you one. You are not a good mom. No, instead, you are a GREAT mom! A FAB-U-LOUS mom!! My kid drinks instant. That is, unless you invite us over to your house (on a non-weekday) to partake in some of your delicious homemade hot chocolate. But I’ve seen you with your kids many times, and you are so great with them. They have done so much and are so smart, and so much of that is because of you and the influence you have in their lives. We all have days where we feel like bad moms. But, if you step back and look at the big picture, if you really sum up the total of all your days, I think you are a terrific mom and any kid would be lucky to have you! So, yes, Melissa is right. you are your own worst critic. Stop it. Take a deep breath, remember this day, and all the good things that you do for your child.

25 02 2010
middleclassmom

Now I’m blushing. Thank you, friends, for all of your sweet words. I am trying to be less of a personal critic in the hopes that my girls will grow up to be less critical of themselves. Its hard to remember in the day to day rush, but I do the best I can as a mom and I need to start reminding myself of that more often. (Thank goodness I you two to help me!) We definitely need to get together soon for some hot chocolate. I’m thinking next time it needs some biscotti! 🙂

Leave a Reply

